Table for three

Cruise lines have plenty of events for single travellers

Most big cruise lines offer social activities for minority or special interest groups, but I’ve never seen a line embrace the subject as enthusiastically as Princess Cruises does.

On the day we boarded (Monday), there was a Singles’ Mingle, which I missed as we were having dinner, a special gathering for 18-20 year olds, who are too old for the teen club, and a GLBT Get-Together (whatever happened to Friends of Dorothy?).

On Tuesday, the Friends of Bill W had a meeting (for those of you who are not familiar with the term, this is the wording used in the daily programme for an AA group and all big cruise ships have them).  I missed the Singles’ Mingle yet again on Wednesday as it was at a weird time (5.15) and we were swimming, although the golfers, scrabble players, GLBT and 18-20s on board all had a chance to hook up.

Today is a sea day and it’s non-stop opportunities for finding kindred spirits. There are social events for bridge players, first-time cruisers, Service Club members, GLBT passengers and freemasons, a Friends of Bill W meeting, a veterans’ gathering and a service for anybody wanting to celebrate the Jewish Sabbath.

No Singles’ Mingle today, though, which makes me worry that I’ve missed the boat, as it were. Maybe all the singles paired off on the first couple of days?

I appreciate that I’m including a religious event and an AA support group with the social activities all in one stream of thought here, but it seems there is something to encourage everybody to connect – except me, as a single parent on a cruise. Even if there were a single parents’ mingle, I expect I’d be the only one there as I haven’t spotted any other obvious candidates. Everybody is either paired off or travelling in a big group. The three of us – me and two kids – certainly seem a curiosity to the crew and every time we sit down in a bar or restaurant, I am asked, “Where is your husband?”

I don’t mind at all and this is not a sob story, although we are thinking of inventing some colourful reason as to why he’s not here; ran off with a showgirl, perhaps, or on a secret mission somewhere. It just seems strange to me that more single parents aren’t attracted to cruising, as it’s such an easy holiday. The kids love it, I’m quite happy lying around reading, we’re ashore every day and we’re very happy having dinner together and going to the shows in the evenings.  But if I did want to hook up with people, it might be easier if I were travelling solo, a scrabble enthusiast or a masonic Friend of Dorothy.

SJB

3 Comments

Filed under Amenities, Cruise Lines, Family Cruises, Mediterranean Cruise, Singles Cruises

3 responses to “Table for three

  1. Melissa J

    I’m really confused – you didn’t make it to 2 of the scheduled singles events, but are unhappy there were no single parent events? Did you stop and think that hmmm, maybe nothing else was scheduled because there wasn’t that much interest in the event – because no one was showing up?

    • You’re right, it does sound a bit like that! Apologies. First, I’m not unhappy – it was just an observation. I wouldn’t go to singles events with my kids in tow – that would seem a bit weird. I’m sure plenty of people turned up! Single parent gatherings are not something I’ve seen on any ship and as you say, that’s probably because there is no demand. I am just surprised that more single parents don’t choose cruising as it seems such an easy way to go on holiday, relax and keep the kids happy. Sue

      • Sophie

        Sue, your post makes me wonder if any cruise lines do parties for single parents (could be a good marketing idea!).

Leave a comment